Waffles (Paleo, SCD)

Waffles were one of the first grain-free baked goods I had to nail down when we changed our diet.  My kiddos love waffles and I loved the convenience of being able to pop them in the toaster first thing in the morning.  For almost a year, this was the recipe I used when making waffles.  These waffles are delicious and they freeze well.  But recently I wanted to tweak the recipe to add in some coconut flour and decrease the amount of almond flour.  Not just for health reasons, but also to make them more affordable to eat.  My kids can’t tell any difference in the recipes!

You will notice that my recipe makes a lot of waffles (the exact number will depend on your waffle maker).  I figure if you’re going to go to the trouble to get out your waffle maker you may as well make enough to freeze and keep some on hand for another day.  We have this waffle maker, and this recipe makes 8 waffles in our waffle maker.  The waffles are so large that I cut them in half before freezing them for my kids.  With that in mind, I consider this recipe to be one that makes 16 servings.

Waffles (16 servings)

1 cup almond flour

1/3 cup coconut flour

5 eggs

1 cup of coconut or almond milk (I also use my 24-hour yogurt)

3 TBSP honey

1 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

2 tsp vanilla

coconut oil

Combine all ingredients.  Heat up your waffle iron and when it is ready, brush coconut oil onto the waffle iron with a pastry brush.  Add batter and cook according to your waffle iron specifications.  Enjoy immediately!

If you plan to freeze any waffles, allow them to cool completely and then place them in a freezer bag and freeze.  You can reheat them in a toaster.

May 2013 127

One response

  1. So I tried making these waffles this morning and I’m not sure that I did it right. Granted, I cut the recipe in half so I’m sure that’s where I messed up, but I have to ask anyway, is it supposed to come out like regular batter or more like dough (which is what I got)? I still liked the way mine came out but I can’t help but feel like they could have been better. Cooking isn’t my strong suit so this is really just me experimenting.

Leave a comment