Savory Pumpkin Soup (Paleo, SCD)

Don’t everybody go having a heart attack.  I know it’s been forever since I’ve posted.  Life is good, but busy!  Fall happened somewhere since the last time I posted, and that officially makes it soup weather.  So far this season, I’ve made creamy tomato basil soup, french onion soup (which without the crusty bread and massive amount of cheese is ridiculously lacking), and this amazing chicken soup.

november 2013 370

I could go on for days about how much I loved this chicken soup.  It is a bowl of comfort, and I am thinking of making another batch this weekend.

Yesterday, I had planned on us just having leftovers for dinner.  It was a cold and rainy day and I had promised the boys we could have a family movie night.  Soup just felt right, so I googled up “paleo pumpkin soup”.  This lovely recipe was the first thing to pop up and I had all the ingredients on hand.  I changed it up a little to make it more savory, and I liked it so much I’m going to share it with you!

Savory Pumpkin Soup (serves 6)

2 cans of pumpkin (30 ounces total)

1 can of full fat coconut milk (have more on hand if you want to use it as garnish)

2 cups of chicken bone broth/stock

1 8 oz. package of bacon (I use Applegate)

1.5 tsp salt (less if you are using store bought broth/stock)

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp onion powder

ground pepper to taste

1 bunch chopped green onions

Start by chopping up your bacon into tiny pieces and then cook it in a stock pot.  When it is crispy, set it aside, but reserve the bacon grease in the pot.  Now add to the pot your pumpkin, broth, and coconut milk.  Stir until smooth and then add the spices.  Let simmer for 15-30 minutes.  I wanted it to thicken up a bit, so I let it simmer closer to 30.

Top your soup with a drizzle of the canned coconut milk, crunchy bacon, and green onions.  Because even though this only took you a half hour, you want people to think you are fancy.

Enjoy and stay warm!

november 2013 416

Leave a comment