Paleo Pigs in a Blanket

What kids (or adults for that matter) don’t love pigs in a blanket??  I know my family does, so when a friend tipped me off to these Applegate uncured cocktail franks, I knew what had to be done.  I found them at Whole Foods, and they were pretty pricey (about $7-8), but worth the splurge.  If you can’t find these in a store near you, you can always buy the Applegate hot dogs and cut them into many smaller pieces.

november 19 009

For the bread portion, I decided to modify a recipe from the amazing Against All Grain cookbook to see if it would work.  The original recipe is for Rosemary Breadsticks.

Paleo Pigs in a Blanket

1 1/4 cups almond flour

1 egg

1 TBSP olive oil

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

Applegate cocktail smokies

Combine all ingredients (except smokies) using a mixer.  Roll dough out between 2 sheets of parchment paper.  You will want them to be thicker than crackers, but not by too much.  Use a pizza cutter to cut the dough.  I cut the dough into triangles as you can see below.  I was trying to mimic how Pilsbury crescent rolls are when you take them out of the tube.

november 19 008

Then I cut the triangles in half.

Is any of this making sense?  Ok, good.

Then you roll the smokies up in the dough (start at the wide end and roll up towards the narrowest part of the dough).  Place finished product on a baking sheet.  I like to line mine with parchment paper.

november 19 010

Bake at 350 for approximately 15 minutes.

Enjoy your kids’ squeals when you tell them you are having pigs in a blanket for dinner!

november 19 012

 

6 responses

Leave a comment