Snickerdoodle Blondies (Paleo, SCD)

Last night I teased on Facebook that I had a recipe for snickerdoodle blondies, and I predicted that everyone probably already had the ingredients in their cupboard.  That’s how basic these little yummies are.   These blondies are inspired by a recipe in the book “Breaking the Vicious Cycle“, which is considered the SCD bible.  That recipe is simply for Peanut Butter Blondies and it was the first time I had ever even heard of using peanut or almond butter for baking–that was a fun revelation!!

It reminded me of another recipe I used to make for my boys that they loved.  This snickerdoodle blondie recipe by Chocolate Covered Katie has some unexpected ingredients (chickpeas!!), but my kids used to gobble them up!!!   Now that we’ve omitted legumes from our diet, those blondies aren’t an option any more, but I think these new ones are even yummier.  So without further ado…..

Snickerdoodle Blondies (makes 9)

1 cup almond butter (may also use all-natural peanut butter if you aren’t Paleo.  I prefer almond butter because it is more of a mild flavor and doesn’t taste quite so nutty.)

1/2 cup honey

1 egg

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 TBSP. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 325.  Using a hand mixer, blend all ingredients together in a mixing bowl.  Batter will be thick!  Pour it into a greased 8×8 glass baking dish.  Bake for 20-30 minutes.  The blondies get really puffy while they bake:

april 10, 2013 014

and then when they begin to cool, they start to deflate towards the middle.  This is normal.

april 10, 2013 015

My husband worked late last night and I left these on the counter for him with a note telling him to try them.  I woke up to this note:

april 10, 2013 025

So I’m thinking he liked them.

So tell me, do you have the ingredients on hand?  And if so, when are you going to try them?

april 10, 2013 024

4 responses

  1. I never have the ingredients in my pantry when someone says, “You’re sure to have the ingredients in your pantry.” But I was really surprised to see that I do have all of these ingredients (except the eggs,of course.) Wondering if I can sub for the egg or if I’ll need to borrow one from my neighbor!? 🙂

Leave a comment