Chocolate….What More Can I Say?

If you thought 3-ingredient gummies were easy, let me go ahead and blow your mind.  You can make your own chocolate at home….with just 3 ingredients.  And using the same molds you bought for the gummies.

True story.  Look up at the top of my page–those are homemade chocolates.  And they are awesome.

The best way to describe this chocolate is rich.  And dark.  And kind of chewy, like a Rolo.  With a hint of coconut.

Sadly, chocolate (or more specifically, cocoa) isn’t allowed on the particular diet that we follow (SCD).  But the only person in our family who it technically bothers is Mario (and me if I overdo it).  So I do still make these every once in awhile to keep around the house for a treat.  While these chocolates are not SCD-compliant, they are technically paleo (you know the cavemen were all about the chocolate, right?) and refined sugar free, which is way better than any chocolate you can buy in the store.

I started off with a recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie for homemade chocolate bars, but she uses Stevia as a sweetener.  So I modified the recipe to work for us.

Chocolate

1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp. cocoa powder (preferably organic, preferably ethically sourced)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup coconut oil

February 12, 2013 007

Melt the coconut oil and honey in a small saucepan.

pre-melt

pre-melt

Then whisk in the cocoa powder.  It really is as easy as that.

February 12, 2013 009

Once you are to this point, you don’t want to be all slow about it.  Get the chocolate in the molds quickly, and transfer the molds to the fridge or freezer for the chocolate to harden.  If you wait too long, it will begin to goop up and the texture will get all weird.

This chocolate will melt easily and will need to be stored in the refrigerator.  Coconut oil becomes a liquid at 76 degrees, so that is why the chocolate is uber-melty.  But its uber-tastiness makes up for it.  Since we had a lot of strawberries on hand, I decided to dip some strawberries in it for a fun dessert for me and the hubs after the kids went to bed.

February 12, 2013 010

Which leads me to this point–the kids are now in bed and I am blogging and drinking wine and he is in the kitchen cutting up a honeydew.  Clearly, I got the better end of the stick tonight.  But I should go soon, because I’m ready to eat these.

Make some for your valentine tomorrow.  And if you don’t have a valentine, make some for yourself.  Because you’re awesome.  It’s true–you are!  You have great taste in blogs!

February 12, 2013 029

PS–if you haven’t “liked” the Facebook page for My Delicious Life, you should really do that now.  Throughout the day, I post links to great recipes and offer lunchbox ideas and let you know what recipes I’m working on.  It’s a laugh-a-minute type thing.  It’s basically like having me on speed-dial all day long.  Oh wait….I just lost you.

Oh well–happy chocolate-making!

11 responses

  1. seriously, I think there should be an automatic pinning thing because I have pinned every recipe you have posted so far. Just need a few more ingredients and I’ll be good to go! These look great – I’m pinning it to try later 🙂

  2. I had every intention of trying to make these yesterday…in addition to the gummies. As usual, I overestimated how much I can get done on my day “off” from work (since we also went to a puppet show, made hummus, made gummies, went grocery shopping, finished Valentine’s, washed dishes, etc…). Therefore, I hope to get to these this weekend.

  3. I tried this and need to work on my technique. It seemed to get hard really fast (as in seconds). I couldn’t get it to work for dipping strawbetteries and sort of had to push it into the molds to make chocolates. However, it tastes great. It just seems like I need to thin it down somewhat to keep it more “liquidy” longer. Any ideas? I have made choc-covered pretzels & strawberries in the past (with just regular choc chips or baking chocolate, melted on the stove) and those I can keep more “runny” longer in order to dip things.

    • Are you completely melting the honey and coconut oil before adding the cocoa? That’s the only thing that I could see that would cause the problem. The honey and the coconut oil should be totally liquefied.

  4. Pingback: Customizable Paleo and SCD Candy Bars | My Delicious Life

  5. Pingback: Strawberries and Cream No Bake Pie (Paleo, SCD) | My Delicious Life

  6. Pingback: Paleo Chocolate and Berry Cream Pie | Thoughts between pages

Leave a comment